SAGE's Cookie Policy
Close 

To enhance your experience on our site, SAGE stores cookies on your computer. By continuing you consent to receive cookies.

Learn More

Skills in Existential Counselling & Psychotherapy

Emmy van Deurzen New School of Psychotherapy and Counselling, London
Martin Adams New School of Psychotherapy and Regent's College, London
© 2011   176 pages   SAGE Publications Ltd   
Lecturers
Inspection Copy
Individual Purchasers
Paperback ISBN: 9781412947800 £22.99
Hardcover ISBN: 9781412947794 £69.00
Ebook ISBN: 9781446248133

'This is an introductory text for those unfamiliar with existential therapy. It is written in an accessible style, is attractively laid out and contains many synopses, reflective exercises and case examples to illustrate the theory. As someone whose training includes the existential therapeutic approach, and who has ongoing experience of supervising existential therapists, I found this a useful guide for students and teachers alike, as well as those seeking to integrate the approach into their practice...certainly deserves a place on the library shelf of every organisation' -
Therapy Today


'The huge value of this book comes from the wonderfully practical approach that is taken throughout. Instead of simply parroting ideas that for many seem vague or even incomprehensible, the authors provide concrete suggestions for practice. In terms of meeting the needs of the likely key market (students studying on courses in existential counselling and psychotherapy) it is nigh-on perfect. If any students are reading this review then I would strongly recommend you buy this book. Indeed, I would recommend that anyone interested in existential counselling and psychotherapy, whether student or experienced practitioner/teacher, buy this book and relish the clear, accurate and superbly practical exposition contained therein that is all too rare in this field.'
Dr. Darren Langdridge
Journal of Existential Analysis


'At last - a lucid and accessible overview of the 'British model' of Existential therapy. With its clear language and well-judged examples of practice this is an essential resource for trainees and practitioners alike'
Professor Simon du Plock
Metanoia Institute and Middlesex University


'A standard criticism of the Existential approach is that while the ideas are relevant, the implications for practice are vague. In response, this rather unique book offers a handbook of practical approaches intrinsic to the challenge of working within the Existential paradigm. It is essential reading for anybody interested in Existential therapy and will be of significant value to any practitioner of therapy of whatever modality'
Ray Woolfe
Chartered Counselling Psychologist in private practice

This is a good book which clearly explains the skills used by existential therapists when conducting therapy.

Miss Jade Cumming

Social Sciences, Reid Kerr College

Oct 01 2014

Report this review

This is more relevant for a second year module which includes existential counselling. I am, however, very interested in the subject myself and have made use of the book for my own research. I will recommend it to a colleague for use with second year students.

Ms Vicki Smith

Division of Psychology, Huddersfield University

Nov 09 2012

Report this review

This book fills a real gap in the existential psychotherapy literature. The authors rise to the challenge of building practical bridges between existential philosophy and the world of the psychotherapy room.

Mr Gerry Myers

Counselor Education , University of Limerick

Sep 21 2012

Report this review

This addition to the ‘Skills In’ series continues the theme of clear practical examination of practice. It will be a useful reference for Practitioners wishing to expand their knowledge, as well as Trainees.

Mr Mike Bancroft

Counselling, Alton College

Dec 02 2011

Report this review

An excellent, easily readable book for introducing concepts to students new to existential counselling.

Mrs Jackie Chivers

Adult Continuing Education, University of Wales, Swansea

Sep 30 2011

Report this review

Some useful activities to enable student reflection.

Ms Sue Chowdhry

Healthcare and Counselling, Adam Smith College

Sep 22 2011

Report this review

As with all of Emmy Van Deurzens' texts, this was a very approachable read, an introductory feast of Existential material. It fills a need in the discussion of actual skills that a therapist may adopt when using this perspective. All too often Existential ways of working seem too ephemeral for the new student in their first approach to the subject matter, and they are frequently discouraged by what seems to be something too hard to grasp and possibly too philosophical in nature. This book takes that rather philosophical approach but relates the thinking in a very practical and appealing way, placing it in its historical context, and then widening into the contemporary approach which offers a truly holistic consideration of personhood and presence in the World. I have reccomended the text to our students from the first year onwards, and I believ that they will find material relevant throughout their training period of three years. I myself found plenty to inform my practice as a counsellor and supervisor, even when not new to me the material offers a new perspective which is very refreshing.

Mr Andrew Thorne

Bristol Centre For Care, Health & Educ, City of Bristol College

Jul 08 2011

Report this review

Clearly written book which could be very useful to students on this course.

Mr Ian Townsend

Nursing, Central Lancashire University

Jun 26 2011

Report this review

These authors are well known to us and this is a welcome addition/useful expansion. We are already drawing on Mearns and Copper Working at Relational Depth and McLeod. We intend to add these books to out Counselling Year 2 booklist. Seems appropriately challenging for students already experienced with clients. The pluralistic approached outlined so clearly here feels like a flexible, helpful and integrative framework for our students.

Mr Simon Smart

Training, BCPC

Apr 18 2011

Report this review

Clear accessible explanation of theory and practice - aided by use of exercise and vignettes.

Ms Lynne Lacock

Dept of Counselling Studies, York St John University College

Mar 04 2011

Report this review

The plentiful exercises and examples bring to life the nature of existential counselling in a very accessible way for students not training to be counsellors and for whom existential theory is one of a number they are studying.

Ms Lynne Lacock

Dept of Counselling Studies, York St John University College

Mar 04 2011

Report this review

Useful additional reading for 3rd year students who wish to extend their skills and understanding in this area.

Ms Elizabeth Lefroy

Institute for Health, Medical Sciences and Society, Glyndwr University

Mar 03 2011

Report this review

A highly practical book full of clear examples and exercises to encourage the reader to examine their own assumptions and practice. Vagueness is addressed well in the many illustrations. This book and the ideas within it are clear, well presented, straightforward and easy to use.

Mrs Rachel Harrison

Interprofessional Studies, Winchester University

Jan 05 2011

Report this review

duplicate

Mr Richard Carroll

School of Health , Guildford College of Further and Higher Education

Dec 17 2010

Report this review

This book is essential to understanding how existential theory informs practice. The theory is clearly explained, easy to identify with examples that highlight it's application. A very informative text.

Mr Richard Carroll

School of Health , Guildford College of Further and Higher Education

Dec 17 2010

Report this review

Product Type

All